Some songs with food in the title

2 Jun

About three years ago, my wife asked for song titles that involved food (for a quiz she was writing). Yesterday, I happened across the file I’d written.

A Spoonful Of Sugar (just a spoonful of sugar makes the medicine go down) – 1964 – JULIE ANDREWS
Apples and Oranges – PINK FLOYDD
Banana Boat (day-o, daylight come and I wanna go home) – 1957 – HARRY BELAFONTE
Breakfast At Tiffany’s (“she” said “what about Breakfast At Tiffany’s”, “I” said “yes, I remember the film”) – 1995 – DEEP BLUE SOMETHING
Breakfast In America – 1979 – SUPERTRAMP
Breakfast In Bed – 1988 – CHRISSIE HYNDE and UB40
Brown Sugar (how come you taste so good)- 1971 – THE ROLLING STONES
Candy Girl – FRANKIE VALLI
Cheeseburger in Paradise – JIMMY BUFFET
Cherry Bomb (that’s when a smoke was a smoke, and groovin’ was groovin’) – 1988 – JOHN COUGAR MELLENCAMP
Cherry, Cherry (she got the way to move me, Cherry, oh Cherry baby) – 1966 – NEIL DIAMOND
Chicken Every Sunday – DOLLY PARTON
Coconut (put the lime in the coconut and drink it all up) – 1972 – HARRY NILSSON
Does Your Chewing Gum Lose Its Flavor (on the bedpost over night) – 1961 – LONNIE DONEGAN & HIS SKIFFLE GROUP
Honey Pie – THE BEATLES
Honey, Honey – 1974 – ABBA
Lips Like Sugar (sugar kisses) – 1987 – ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Little Green Apples – 1968 – O C SMITH
Peaches – 1977 – STRANGLERS
Peppermint Twist (got a new dance and it goes like this, the name of the dance is the peppermint twist) – 1962 – JOEY DEE & THE STARLIFTERS
Poprocks and Coke – GREEN DAY
Raspberry Beret (she wore a raspberry beret, the kind you find in a secondhand store) – 1985 – PRINCE
Rock Lobster – 1979 – THE B-52s
Strawberry Fields Forever (won’t you take me down, ’cause I’m going to strawberry fields, nothing is real) – 1967 – THE BEATLES
Sugar and Spice –  THE SEARCHERS
Sugar Baby Love – 1974 – RUBETTES
Sugar Shack (I’ve got to get back to that sugar shack) – 1963 – JIMMY GILMER & THE FIREBALLS
Sugar, Sugar (sugar, oh honey honey, you are my candy girl) – 1969 – THE ARCHIES
Sukiyaki – 1963 – KYU SAKAMOTO
Sweets For My Sweet – 1963 – SEARCHERS

I was going to add “Some one left the cake out in the rain“, but of course this is actually titled “MacArthur Park”  (1968) by  JIMMY WEBB.

Other titles that aren’t quite right:

I left my Tart in San Fransisco – TONY BENNET
Give Pizza a chance – JOHN LENNON & THE PLASTIC ONO BAND
Sundae Girl – BLONDIE
I will always love Stew – WHITNEY HOUSTON
Another one bites the Crust – QUEEN
You’re the bun that I want – JOHN TRAVOLTA and OLIVIA NEWTON JOHN

 

Leave a Reply

