The End of the World

13 Jun

One of my favourite classical paintings. This is by John Martin from 1853.

Also known as “Great Day of His Wrath“.

Article about the painting  in Wikipedia here, about the artist here, and a link to the file here.

I happened across John Martin when I was reading a Science Fiction novel from then 1970s. A reference to a landscape “like the apocalyptic landscapes of John Martin” sent me off to find out whether he really existed, or was a creation of the author (something that some authors, e.g. H.P. Lovecraft, often did). To my surprise, I found out that (a) he did exist, and (b) I really liked his work.

Leave a Reply

