Braided wires from a power supply

16 Dec
  • A bunch of braided wires, ready for use:

Power Supply to Braided Wires 16122012 014 (braids) S

Bored on a hot Sunday afternoon, I decided to knock up some 4-wire cables to run to bipolar stepper motors. It didn’t take long and I was pleased with the results. Nothing clever but it turned a junk item into something useful.

  • (1) The victim, an old pc power supply. From the connections, this one must be at least 10 years old. I keep a bunch of them around for raw materials.

Power Supply to Braided Wires 16122012 002 (power supply) S

  • (2) A few minutes with a screwdriver and the guts are spread across the table.

Power Supply to Braided Wires 16122012 005 (opened up) S

  • (3) Time for the wire cutters. I could have heated up the solder with a hot air gun and desoldered the wires – that would have a given me a few extra mm of wire and a pre-stripped and tinned end ready for use. However it was 30°C  in the living room, and hot air wasn’t what I wanted.

Power Supply to Braided Wires 16122012 008 (bundle) S

  • (4) When I sorted out the wires I had one each of  grey, white, green, blue, and purple, plus 3 orange, 3 yellow, 5 red, and 11 black (all 18 guage), plus another 5 thinner wires.

Power Supply to Braided Wires 16122012 011 (grouped) S

  • (5) I grouped them together in sets of four, then did a flat-4 braid of each set. Excellent instructions on this very simple braid here, courtesy of T J Potter, “Sling Maker”.

Power Supply to Braided Wires 16122012 014 (braids) S  Power Supply to Braided Wires 16122012 014 (closeup) S

So, out of my dead power supply, I ended up with 5 handy high-power 4-wire cables, albeit rather short. I  swiped a spare yellow wire from my workbench to complete a sixth cable, and also braided a set of the thinner wires.

Leave a Reply

