Four quick enhancements for a cheap tablesaw

14 Feb

This is my cheap 250mm (10″) tablesaw – a “Tooline TS250”. None to fancy, but it cuts ok.

Tablesaw mods - 14022014 001

Dust collection is a real problem in my shed so I’ve added some footings to it so I can carry it out to gravel driveway. Much better for my lungs, and the wide support makes it stable on the stones.

Tablesaw mods - 14022014 002

A close up of the very simple footing. Four pieces of 100×25 Oregon, bolted together, and the legs bolted to them. There were some rubber feet, but I got the positioning of the legs wrong and one wouldn’t fit so I left them off.

Tablesaw mods - 14022014 003

I glued a multibox to a side panel. It seemed like a good idea, but I haven’t used it yet.

Tablesaw mods - 14022014 005

I grabbed a chunk of mdf and glued some 25×25 strips of wood around the edges. The mdf had quite a curve in it, but fastening the strips to it sorted it out.

Tablesaw mods - 14022014 006

It’s just big enough to fit over the top of the tablesaw. Now I have another workspace, without having to worry about damaging the soft cast-aluminium table top.

Tablesaw mods - 14022014 007

One last fixup is visible here. The plastic coating (complete with the angle markings) is peeling off, less than a year after purchase.

Tablesaw mods - 14022014 008

So there is a magnet holding it down. (The body is plastic but there’s a screw under that point).

A final note for the safety-conscious, and those familiar with tablesaws. The riving knife is not removed for photographic clarity. It’s removed because it was so badly designed that I couldn’t get it to stay parallel with the blade and not bend over and catch the workpiece. The saw is actually safer without it.

Leave a Reply

